Skip to content

Privatising Blood donations

February 28, 2011

The latest wheeze from the coalition is the idea to privatise the blood donation service.

I have a problem with this.

I do not give blood so that someone can turn a profit from my blood.

Yes the blood donation service could be more efficient from the donors point of view. An efficient appointment system that actually worked, as opposed to the current system that still allows you to have to queue for an hour after your appointment time to give blood but beyond that they are fine.

However any suggestion that a private company is going to in any way profit from my donation is wrong and will put me off donating in the future.

I can’t help thinking that I am not alone.

With only 4% of the population currently donating the last thing we need is to discourage those that do.

From → Politics

One Comment
  1. It’s bloody ugly though

Leave a Reply

