Skip to content

Return of automatic status setting in IM

June 21, 2008

At last the rest of the bits of “gaim” that disappeared from Solaris when it moved to be “pidgin” have returned in Nevada build 92. I’m talking about “purple-remote” which is the program that replaces “gaim-remote” and thus allows me once again to set my away message using “utaction” so when I disconnect from my Sun Ray session my IM status is automatically set as well.

If you take the script that I wrote last time and do a global edit changing “gaim-remote” to be “purple-remote” it will work. Something I realise now but did not then was that you only need one ut-action command to handle both connection and disconnection so this will do it:

utaction -d "purple-remote ‘setstatus?status=away&message=Away from Sun Ray’" -c "${HOME}/bin/sh/ut-where"


From → Solaris

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

