Skip to content

I’ve been certified

October 8, 2007

You can take various certification exams while at CEC, so I thought I would put myself on the line and take the “Sun Certified System Administrator for Solaris 10” exam. You get 1 hour 30 minutes to answer 59 questions. I took 49 minutes and scored 81% which was slightly disappointing if not really that surprising. I some how doubt I scored well about printing or for that matter the install sections.

One bit I just don’t understand why they ask the questions was around using rsh and for that matter doing remote dumps, where there was at least one ambiguous question;

If you want to do a remote dump which file do you edit had both: /etc/hosts.equiv and /.rhosts well I would choose $HOME/.rhosts as I would never use rsh in anyform to allow remote root access but that was not an option.

Overall I thought the test was good and therefore the certification is a good thing to have. It could be better though.

From → Solaris

3 Comments
  1. Jeff permalink

    You only took one of the two tests if it was only 59 questions, which means you aren’t certified (yet). 😉

  2. I’ll be back then. There did not appear to be a second test. I see an ease of use issue witht he tests here.

  3. I was slightly premature. Thanks Jeff.
    I am now certified. The second test was easier for me and I scored 92% in 48 minutes.
    I’d love to know the ones I got wrong.

Leave a Reply

