Skip to content

36 miles a year

January 14, 2007

I’m staggered. According to this article on the BBC the average distance cycled in the U.K. Is 36 miles a year. Which means I am doing the riding for approximately 250 others. Does not seem fair.

I recall that a few years ago I asked the local council for a copy of their cycling plan, that at the time, they had to draw up when the government at the time was setting targets for increasing cycling. According to the survey of cycling in the borough they had, I accounted for 7% of all the cycling done. Which also meant I could name enough cyclists in the borough to complete all the cycling.

I suspect under reporting.

Tags: topic:[cycling]

From → Cycling

One Comment
  1. Chris,
    Don’t believe this is so,
    Think the term ‘Fat Bastard’ was just a storyline?
    If so then guess I’m biking for MILLIONS!

Leave a Reply

