Skip to content

Cycling in the press

June 7, 2006

It seems the Independent is running some articles on cycling today.

This one made me laugh out load for this quote:

Yesterday, Mr Havers was in no mood to signal a thaw in relations. Speaking from his car on a mobile phone, he said: "I absolutely hate cyclists. If they use the roads for free and they don’t have to pay any tax, they must obey the rules”

The ignorance. Last time I checked I paid a lot of tax. Then the irony of Mr Havers speaking from his car on a mobile phone. I do hope he was not driving. Don’t start me on the 90% on drivers who admit to speeding or comparing the numbers killed by motorists and cyclists. Even with Red light jumping, something I don’t condone, cyclists are simply not the problem.


The articles I have found are:


How Nigel Havers incurred wrath of bicycling readers


Revolution! Britain embraces the bicycle


Via Alec

Tags: topic:[cycling] topic:[media]

From → Cycling

2 Comments
  1. Gavin permalink

    “made me laugh out load” – you mean atomically, or was it side-splitting?

  2. Yup I should not post quick entries…

Leave a Reply

