Skip to content

Nvidia driver on the Toshiba Tecra M2

October 20, 2005

I have been running into a problem with the Nvidia driver on my, well Sun’s, Toshiba Tecra M2 laptop that I have. Occasionally it would not come out of screen blank and I had to resort to hitting Control Alt backspace to get the X server to restart. So I would loose my session.

Well I finally got around to looking into it why it happens even if I have no fix at least I now have a work around. The problem would appear to be with power management when the card is put into Standby mode it won’t resume. Disabling power management via the Launch->Preferences->Desktop Preferences->Display->screen saver, it is on the advanced tab, and now my screen is fine.

The driver version is: nvidia (nvidia %I% May 25 2005 11:08:12)

Time to report the bug to Nvidia, even if this is “unsupported”.

From → Solaris

Nvidia driver on the Toshiba Tecra M2

October 20, 2005

I have been running into a problem with the Nvidia driver on my, well Sun’s, Toshiba Tecra M2 laptop that I have. Occasionally it would not come out of screen blank and I had to resort to hitting Control Alt backspace to get the X server to restart. So I would loose my session.

Well I finally got around to looking into it why it happens even if I have no fix at least I now have a work around. The problem would appear to be with power management when the card is put into Standby mode it won’t resume. Disabling power management via the Launch->Preferences->Desktop Preferences->Display->screen saver, it is on the advanced tab, and now my screen is fine.

The driver version is: nvidia (nvidia %I% May 25 2005 11:08:12)

Time to report the bug to Nvidia, even if this is “unsupported”.

From → Solaris

One Comment
  1. asaad permalink

    good day
    I have laptap from toshiba terca m2 type and i format this laptop and can not reinslation the hardwear for many driver

Leave a Reply

