Skip to content

One year on.

September 16, 2005

I’ve been blogging for a year.

I’ve been surprised that any one reads my blog and more surprised how often I refer back to it.

I’ve obviously gone for quantity rather than quality as I have made 360 posts (as I actually write this I have made 359). I really must get out more.

Topics have been mostly around cycling and computers but during the Election I started to wonder off topic and continue to do so.

A year ago I was concerned about whether I could continue to commute by bike to work after we moved offices. Now I have done a year of commuting, clocking over 10,000miles on my bikes, I can at least say it can be done. I have driven to the office twice, both times to collect or deliver computers and caught the train once due to it being icy. All other journeys have been by bike.

I have even stopped getting the lift to the my desk on the top floor when I get to work, so I must be fitter. I’m almost a stone lighter and have learnt that having breakfast again when I arrive at work is not a luxury but more of a requirement.

tags: topic:[blogging] topic:[cycling] topic:[commuting]

From → General

One year on.

September 16, 2005

I’ve been blogging for a year.

I’ve been surprised that any one reads my blog and more surprised how often I refer back to it.

I’ve obviously gone for quantity rather than quality as I have made 360 posts (as I actually write this I have made 359). I really must get out more.

Topics have been mostly around cycling and computers but during the Election I started to wonder off topic and continue to do so.

A year ago I was concerned about whether I could continue to commute by bike to work after we moved offices. Now I have done a year of commuting, clocking over 10,000miles on my bikes, I can at least say it can be done. I have driven to the office twice, both times to collect or deliver computers and caught the train once due to it being icy. All other journeys have been by bike.

I have even stopped getting the lift to the my desk on the top floor when I get to work, so I must be fitter. I’m almost a stone lighter and have learnt that having breakfast again when I arrive at work is not a luxury but more of a requirement.

tags: topic:[blogging] topic:[cycling] topic:[commuting]

From → General

2 Comments
  1. UVR permalink

    This is more of a question than a comment. You write:

    > I am almost a *stone* lighter

    How many pounds or kilos is a “stone?”

  2. 14 pounds = 1 stone
    9.5% would be a more useful way to express the loss

Leave a Reply

