Skip to content

While I was away the spammers did play

September 3, 2005

Well it took nearly a year for the blog spammers to find my blog and decide that people reading this wanted to play Poker, roulette, needed valium (which if they are reading my blog could be true), had erectile disfunction, wanted a car loan or wanted a home improvement loan.

I’m a bit miffed that, with the exception of the valium sellers, they clearly had not read the blog.

Poker, roulette and depression can all be replaced by cycling.

Erectile disfunction means your saddle is not right, get a new one or adjust it.

Car loan? Bike loan please

Home improvement loan, o.k. you might want one of those, but not from a spammer so **** ***

Anyway I have had to set the comment timeout to 30 days to reduce the exposure of the blog.

I have a few RFEs for roller that would help

  • A way to mark each comment as read and a way to see all unread comments. Then I would not miss comments, and could easily spot the spam when it comes in. Email notification of the spam clearly does not work as I was not informed. Either the email was not sent or the Sun Spam filter removed it, which given the subject of the spam is most likely.

  • A way to view all unread comments with a keyword in them and then delete them all with one click

Tags: topic:[spam] topic:[blogging] topic:[roller]

From → General

While I was away the spammers did play

September 3, 2005

Well it took nearly a year for the blog spammers to find my blog and decide that people reading this wanted to play Poker, roulette, needed valium (which if they are reading my blog could be true), had erectile disfunction, wanted a car loan or wanted a home improvement loan.

I’m a bit miffed that, with the exception of the valium sellers, they clearly had not read the blog.

Poker, roulette and depression can all be replaced by cycling.

Erectile disfunction means your saddle is not right, get a new one or adjust it.

Car loan? Bike loan please

Home improvement loan, o.k. you might want one of those, but not from a spammer so **** ***

Anyway I have had to set the comment timeout to 30 days to reduce the exposure of the blog.

I have a few RFEs for roller that would help

  • A way to mark each comment as read and a way to see all unread comments. Then I would not miss comments, and could easily spot the spam when it comes in. Email notification of the spam clearly does not work as I was not informed. Either the email was not sent or the Sun Spam filter removed it, which given the subject of the spam is most likely.

  • A way to view all unread comments with a keyword in them and then delete them all with one click

Tags: topic:[spam] topic:[blogging] topic:[roller]

From → General

5 Comments
  1. Rich Burridge permalink

    Hi Chris,

    Here’s an interesting exercise. Go to
    http://blogs.sun.com/roller/sort.jsp?sort=maxComments&order=descending

    You’ll notice that the entry with the most comments (305) of them actually only has 39 comments, but all of them are spam. The roller system is actually detecting that the rest of them are spam and “hiding” them (although not very effectively from pages like sort.jsp).

    That’s just the top entry on the “sort by most comments” page. Most of those that follow are similar.

    As well as your suggestions, the rfe I’d like to see for roller is a button I can click to say “remove all my spam permanently”.

  2. Alan Burlison permalink

    I pointed out a long time ago to the BSC folks that the ‘math question’
    antispam measure was trivial to circumvent. There have been three versions,
    the latest countermeasures took me exactly four lines of perl to circumvent,
    two to deal with the maths question and two to deal with the cookies they’ve
    added – in fact I’m submitting this very comment with the perl script I wrote to
    demonstrate this. Obfustification measures such as those in use on BSC only
    work if they are unique to each blog, in which case it isn’t worth the spammers
    time to defeat them. However, BSC is a big enough target to make it worthwhile
    attacking it.

  3. The math challenge is easy, as Alan points out. I use a graphical challenge for my blog, but even that is not immune. I’ve just had a rash of comment spam from a smart bot; my guess is that it was able to map the (static) challenge bitmap image names to the codes somehow. I think I’ll regenerate everything each night at 2am; this may screw things up for readers in Australia or Japan, but c’est la vie.

  4. Alan Burlison permalink

    I use a Java applet for comment submissions on my personal blog – I wrote it
    myself so it is unique, and as a result I haven’t a single blogspam since.
    I’ve still had some dumb coments after installing it, but that problem is many
    orders of magnitude harder to solve 😉

Leave a Reply

