Skip to content

Dream bike

July 7, 2005

With my winter bike frame away being looked at I’ve been wondering about what I would replace it with if money was no object. This thought experiment is very dangerous since I could end up believing it. Anyway I can dream that my partner will read this and buy it for me.

The role of the bike is just to get me to and from work in the winter, in all weathers except ice, with the return journey being in the dark along roads without street lamps.

  • Airborne valykrie titanium Audax frame. Nice light frame able to have mudguards and rack.

  • Campag Chorus 10 speed group set. Record would just be OTT and the cables on the Shimano group sets get in the headlamp beams.

  • Campag Profit pedals, with reflectors.

  • SON Hub generator on the front wheel, standard rear. Running a 12V system and the rear light.

  • Pannier rack and mud guards.

  • Sele Italia Saddle.

  • ITM bars and stem.

Frighteningly I just checked the Airborne web site and this, minus the SON and the mudguatrds and rack comes in at about £1600 and it is only an extra £200 to get the record group set.

Tags: topic:[cycling] topic:[dream bike] topic:[commuting]

From → Cycling

Dream bike

July 7, 2005

With my winter bike frame away being looked at I’ve been wondering about what I would replace it with if money was no object. This thought experiment is very dangerous since I could end up believing it. Anyway I can dream that my partner will read this and buy it for me.

The role of the bike is just to get me to and from work in the winter, in all weathers except ice, with the return journey being in the dark along roads without street lamps.

  • Airborne valykrie titanium Audax frame. Nice light frame able to have mudguards and rack.

  • Campag Chorus 10 speed group set. Record would just be OTT and the cables on the Shimano group sets get in the headlamp beams.

  • Campag Profit pedals, with reflectors.

  • SON Hub generator on the front wheel, standard rear. Running a 12V system and the rear light.

  • Pannier rack and mud guards.

  • Sele Italia Saddle.

  • ITM bars and stem.

Frighteningly I just checked the Airborne web site and this, minus the SON and the mudguatrds and rack comes in at about £1600 and it is only an extra £200 to get the record group set.

Tags: topic:[cycling] topic:[dream bike] topic:[commuting]

From → Cycling

One Comment
  1. Chris Beal permalink

    I like the idea of the Airborne frame. I’ve always fancied titanium

Leave a Reply

