Skip to content

Plastic Fantastic

June 10, 2005

If cycling is Terry’s wonder drug, then Terry was my dealer.

A few years ago I had a trip to the bay area and wanted a bike to ride to work for the week I was there. So I contacted Terrry to see if he knew where I could hire or borrow one. No problem says Terry I’ll lend you one.

So I ship up with a pair of pedals (you do always carry a pair of cycling shoes and pedals when travelling) expecting Terry to lend me a bone shaker of a bike, which would do, only to be presented with Terry’s “Plastic Fantastic” Trek carbon fibre racing bike. Now I rode a touring bike. I had just bought a 22lb “racing” bike to see what it was like, and enjoyed it, but getting on the Trek changed my attitude to cycling forever.

The Trek was one that was pre the US Postal plastic bikes but was beautiful, light, stiff like no other bike I had ever ridden. From the first day I knew I had to get a seriously light bike. I even discovered that it would stand on it’s front wheel if you braked really hard (the brakes on US bikes are the wrong way round so this was more easily done than it should be) and it could accelerate so fast it was a dream.

On return to the UK I was straight down the bike shop to see what was what. A bit of haggling and I ended up with the Principia weighing in at 16lbs with super fast Rolf Vector Pro wheels. I can’t really afford it but have never regretted it, but I’m not sure I could lend it to some one who is popping over for a business trip.

Thanks Terry that bike changed my life.

Tags:

From → Cycling

Plastic Fantastic

June 10, 2005

If cycling is Terry’s wonder drug, then Terry was my dealer.

A few years ago I had a trip to the bay area and wanted a bike to ride to work for the week I was there. So I contacted Terrry to see if he knew where I could hire or borrow one. No problem says Terry I’ll lend you one.

So I ship up with a pair of pedals (you do always carry a pair of cycling shoes and pedals when travelling) expecting Terry to lend me a bone shaker of a bike, which would do, only to be presented with Terry’s “Plastic Fantastic” Trek carbon fibre racing bike. Now I rode a touring bike. I had just bought a 22lb “racing” bike to see what it was like, and enjoyed it, but getting on the Trek changed my attitude to cycling forever.

The Trek was one that was pre the US Postal plastic bikes but was beautiful, light, stiff like no other bike I had ever ridden. From the first day I knew I had to get a seriously light bike. I even discovered that it would stand on it’s front wheel if you braked really hard (the brakes on US bikes are the wrong way round so this was more easily done than it should be) and it could accelerate so fast it was a dream.

On return to the UK I was straight down the bike shop to see what was what. A bit of haggling and I ended up with the Principia weighing in at 16lbs with super fast Rolf Vector Pro wheels. I can’t really afford it but have never regretted it, but I’m not sure I could lend it to some one who is popping over for a business trip.

Thanks Terry that bike changed my life.

Tags:

From → Cycling

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

