Skip to content

Why I love on line bookmarks.

June 9, 2005

http://del.icio.us allows me to store all my bookmarks online. Then using firefox’s dynamic book marks to load the XML from the site I get my bookmarks on the toolbar of every browser that I use but I only have to update one copy. Using tags I can form hierarchies in the same way but more powerfully than the bookmarks in firefox or mozilla.

The way they can be filed is just great. I tag all my Cycling entries as “Cycling” and all shops with “shop” so the bike shops are all found here: http://del.icio.us/cgerhard/Cycling+shop (that I don’t actually have any links to any shops other than bike shops is a temporary flaw).

That these are then searched by others and I can find related links from others is just a bonus.


Tag:

From → General

Why I love on line bookmarks.

June 9, 2005

http://del.icio.us allows me to store all my bookmarks online. Then using firefox’s dynamic book marks to load the XML from the site I get my bookmarks on the toolbar of every browser that I use but I only have to update one copy. Using tags I can form hierarchies in the same way but more powerfully than the bookmarks in firefox or mozilla.

The way they can be filed is just great. I tag all my Cycling entries as “Cycling” and all shops with “shop” so the bike shops are all found here: http://del.icio.us/cgerhard/Cycling+shop (that I don’t actually have any links to any shops other than bike shops is a temporary flaw).

That these are then searched by others and I can find related links from others is just a bonus.


Tag:

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

