Skip to content

58′ 50″

May 31, 2005

I’ve done it, broke the hour target on the way home. Average was 21.4mph.

Why?

Well it is half term so there is less traffic plus most of the junctions went my way. There is still probably two minutes to be had if I was really lucky with the traffic. Also today was completely still. Hardly any wind and what there was appeared to be behind me. I’m quite pleased about this as I was not blown home. Knocking more time of this will require better lungs and heart or being really silly and doing a warm up before going home rather than on the way.

Obviously this does not compare to the Graham Obree’s return to competitive cycling in article in this weeks Cycling Weekly (did I mention that I was quoted this week). He rode on a fixed 55 x 12, no free wheel, no gears. That is beyond my experience. Top gear on my bike is 53 x 12 but I have loads of other gears, all lower and although he did not finish, as he fell, you have to admire him. Well I do. Micheal Hutchenson won at over 30mph.

So back on topic I broke the hour journey home and am now looking for a new target. I guess I will have to pay more attention to how fast I get to work.



Tag:

From → Cycling

58′ 50″

May 31, 2005

I’ve done it, broke the hour target on the way home. Average was 21.4mph.

Why?

Well it is half term so there is less traffic plus most of the junctions went my way. There is still probably two minutes to be had if I was really lucky with the traffic. Also today was completely still. Hardly any wind and what there was appeared to be behind me. I’m quite pleased about this as I was not blown home. Knocking more time of this will require better lungs and heart or being really silly and doing a warm up before going home rather than on the way.

Obviously this does not compare to the Graham Obree’s return to competitive cycling in article in this weeks Cycling Weekly (did I mention that I was quoted this week). He rode on a fixed 55 x 12, no free wheel, no gears. That is beyond my experience. Top gear on my bike is 53 x 12 but I have loads of other gears, all lower and although he did not finish, as he fell, you have to admire him. Well I do. Micheal Hutchenson won at over 30mph.

So back on topic I broke the hour journey home and am now looking for a new target. I guess I will have to pay more attention to how fast I get to work.



Tag:

From → Cycling

3 Comments
  1. Congrats Chris! Now can you do it with the triplet?

  2. Very nice. Now a wireless webcam pointing straight out over the handlebars….

  3. Thanks. I would love to have a time trial on the triplet, I’m not sure the kids would be so keen!

Leave a Reply

