Skip to content

Product of the week.

November 9, 2004

I’m taking advantage of being off the bike for a few days to give this product of the week. Hopefully by the time I return to the bike the puncture fairy will have forgotten this. It is the Zefal HPX pump. Simply the best on bike pump there is. Those short pumps are just not what you want when you have a puncture. They are great to carry but hopeless to use.

The HPX has a cunning switch on the handle that stops the spring in the handle working so that when pumping you don’t have to work against that. Quite amazing how good it is really.

That is why I own three of these, one for each bike, that can carry one.

Did a silly thing on Saturday.

While carrying one of my nephews, who is just 4, I managed to put my back out. So I’m stuck at home.

The good news is that things are improving and I’m hopeful that I will be back on my bike on Thursday.

From → Cycling

4 Comments
  1. When I first saw the picture above I though Chris had joined the police force as a part timer. That pump looks like the sort of thing our police should have to protect themselves against villians…

  2. I’ll bet that pump doesn’t fit on my mountain bike, so it looks like I’m stuck with a mini pump.

    Actually, I don’t find the mini pumps so bad – you just have to work hard to get the tyres hard!

    PS. I took your advice to actually go out on the bike today instead of going on the bike at the gym, and I’m knackered šŸ™‚

  3. Yup that is a problem. However whenever out in a group and the puncture fairy strikes it is the long pump that wins it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Envy and the winter tool kit | Chris Gerhard's Blog

Leave a Reply

